Introduction.

by Cait

Hello, I’m Cait, and this is my NEW blog. I’m not exactly a novice when it comes to creating a digital diary, but as I am becoming more and more acclimated to using WordPress in one of my day jobs, I have decided to give it a go independently.

I am a senior at Bethany College in Lindsborg, KS, and yes, the town is as small as it sounds. There are roughly 2,500 residents in the area, but the small local population didn’t deter Swedish settlers in the late 1800’s from establishing a small, Lutheran, liberal arts college. It is running at around 600 students at the moment, but back in the school’s golden years, there were around 800. I guess you could say that the whole “big fish in a small pond” adage is running wild, with a few hundred students thinking they are the bread and butter of college students.

I claim a relatively average college existence. I like to have a good time. I like to get good grades. I have had limited life experience thus far, but I have come to realize that to accomplish both of these goals means that I cannot over indulge in either one. So, average is where I stand. I don’t like to over-commit myself, ( I did that in high school, and let me tell you that stressed out is just not my style.) and so I take on what I believe to be doable and carry on from there. Generally, I find I can actually do more than I think, but why take chances?

I am endeavoring to obtain a position in the communication field when I graduate, but because I didn’t figure out that’s what I wanted to do until about 3 months ago, my major is some smattering of business areas with a dash of English thrown in. I’m currently working at a bank in my hometown which is located 20 minutes north of “The LBK” for around 30 hours per week, and filling the remainder of my 40 hour quota with a position as the Bethany College Web Assistant. Basically, I like my job at the bank, but I’m pining for something a little more…me.

When I’m not working, I like to spend time writing. I have many journals and side projects to stoke my creative flame. (Pretty good image I’d say.) Shopping is an ever-present danger, but I attempt to budget in order to satisfy all of my consumer needs, shoes and otherwise. I love talking to my parents and spending time with them, but I love my friends and am fiercely loyal. I went abroad to London, England this past semester, and it made me realize how much more I want to see of the world. However, it gave me a fresh perspective on how important those close to me really are.

I hope you return, but because I get so nervous when people read my writing, it’s okay if you opt out. This is just an outlet for myself, but if it brings contentment to others I have achieved more than I anticipated.

Until next time or not, I’m Cait.

