Book Review: Heart of the Matter

by Cait

I am a reader. I have enjoyed reading since first grade, and I never looked back. The only hiccup I ever remember experiencing in that part of my education was struggling with spelling the word “said.” When I was about 6 , my dad was cooking supper and going over spelling words with me and after frustratingly misspelling it again I declared that I hated reading. I don’t remember his response exactly, but I know that he laughed. I was a precocious child in some ways, and reading was something I was determined to master, if only because the class cutie was a better reader than I was. 15 years and a few thousand books later I look forward to library visits with frenzied anticipation.

Last week I check out a few hard backs and went to town. One of the first I read is called Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin. I own all of Emily Giffin’s other books, (my favorite being Something Blue the sequel to Something Borrowed) but haven’t yet purchased this one. Anyways, I really enjoyed the book. I had  actually read it before and hadn’t really enjoyed it, but I decided to give it another go. I’m so glad that I did. It’s the story of two families who are brought together by a terrible accident. Nick is a leading pediatric plastic surgeon, the husband of Tessa, and father to Ruby and Frank. Valerie is a lawyer and the single mother of Charlie. When Nick is assigned to be Charlie’s surgeon he slowly becomes Valerie’s friend, an ally when friends are few and far between for her little family. Secrets are created and kept, and trust is tested. The happy ending we all crave isn’t as sweet as we would have hoped, but the silver lining is faintly gleaming.

heart of the matter

 

The first time around I was disappointed in the ending. I wanted  a bit more closure, but after a second read I was pleased. It played out a difficult situation in a realistic manner, and the abundance of characters kept the book from seeming flat. I would recommend this book to a reader who enjoys books about real life and real feelings, but perhaps not to newlyweds.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

