Variety is the Spice of Life?

by Cait

I know this isn’t a cooking blog, but just let the title simmer for a bit and stick with me here. So when I started this blog last week I wasn’t exactly sure of what I wanted it to be. I’m still not. However, I know that I don’t want it to be one-sided and boring for both you as a reader, and me as a spacey college student. To move in what I believe to be a positive direction, requires a little creativity and ingenuity on my part, but also a little patience and perseverance on yours.

In books you basically have two types of characters: flat and round. Flat characters are minor and don’t really change throughout the course of the story. Round characters, however, are the major players and undergo an alteration of some sort. Round is what we as individuals aim for, and what authors want their main characters  to emulate. Think of…Elizabeth Bennet in Pride in Prejudice and all of the changes she undergoes and all of the facets of her personality that are brought about through her growth. You can appreciate her happy ending all the more because she is human and has different parts attached to her which make her a heroine worth rooting for.

If you aren’t an Austen fan, think of Tom Hanks’ character in Castaway. Initially Chuck Noland is obsessed with punctuality and depends on technology to help him accomplish his fixation. However, when he becomes stranded on an island without any sort of modern technology (or dates with Helen Hunt to be late for) he is forced to rethink his natural tendencies and adapt to a new situation. That is what life is about: change, evolution, and adaptation.

Which brings us back to the spice. My roommates are attempting to push me out of my comfort zone when it comes to cooking my meals, but why should that push extend only to my cooking? Writing is a passion of mine, and how sad would it be if I were to grow tired of what is currently a favorite pastime? I don’t believe that is possible, but nonetheless, I am determined to have a variety of topics covered. Now don’t be thinking that this is me getting all “quantity over quality” on you, I assure you  that is not the case. It is about me having interests that extend beyond movies and books. Interests that span a big world of interesting things. A little non-specific? Maybe. However, it is exactly what I mean. My little corner here in the WordPress world is about life. It is about displaying the messy and beautiful moments that accompany this crazy ride.

That being said, two of my favorite things are movies and books, and those will take priority and in turn make up a great deal of my content. A few random snippets of the daily life of a poor college student will be sprinkled in, but not too liberally. I’m just a boring girl from Kansas after all. But you already knew that.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

