Book Review: An Object of Beauty

by Cait

Okay, it’s been a few weeks, but I hope you all had a lovely Fourth of July weekend and after.

I finished the novel I had been obsessively reading. It is called An Object of Beauty  and it is by Steve Martin. I love Steve Martin movies, and when I heard he was not only an actor and a banjo player, but a novelist too, I was beyond intrigued. After finding the book on this list I was even more interested. I am typically opposed to books being converted into a film format simply because so much of the book’s integrity is lost, and seeing your imaginary world in the way that some other person envisions it can only be disappointing. However, the way the book reads I have high hopes for a film version. PLUS! Lacey is most likely going to be played by Amy Adams.

an object of beauty

 

I don’t possess any knowledge of art, it confounds me. This book is purely about the art world within New York City, and if it can suck me in, I believe you should give it a chance. Lacey is a sexy and enticing woman with a hunger for success both monetarily and in her own way, relationally. Her friends, cohorts, and colleagues alike set up the perfect backdrop to let her personality shine and smolder with a tenacious spirit of someone who doesn’t give up easily. The characters and scenes in this book are so vivid and a joy to read. Give it a go, and let me know what you think!

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

