Movie Review: Catching Fire

by Cait

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, I think we can all agree that when  movies are discussed, all people are talking about is “Catching Fire.” Now, I have read all of the novels in The Hunger Games series, however, when I’m asked if I enjoyed them or if the movie is “good” I don’t really know what to say. Are the books well-written and of an interesting subject matter? Yes. Did the movie have suitable casting and well done camera work? I thought so.

The problem is, I don’t think those are the answers that people are searching for when they ask those questions.

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 5.39.00 PM

I think people really want to know whether or not the experience was an enjoyable one. That’s where I get stuck. I love Jennifer Lawrence, and can stand Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth. I love the fact that the storyline features a female heroine. I hate the idea of kids killing kids. I hate reading about how corrupt the Panem government is, and feeling like some similarities can be drawn between this futuristic science fiction world and our own. It’s all just gross to me. I don’t want to see mankind reduced to barbarism. It scares me. In some ways The Hunger Games scares me more than some horror movies. I don’t want to think that humans can possibly be portrayed in such extreme ways, but that’s just it, they can be. Am I the only one who finds that haunting?

Some of my classmates think I am a little sensitive to the content found in the books and movies, they tell me these books have been made for children. Can that possibly be true? I know that I don’t want my children to have those pictures in their heads until it’s not up to me to make that decision for them anymore.

“Catching Fire” is… a cinematic product made to sell tickets and feed the fan addiction for any and all media content that they can get regarding the books. Liam Hemsworth is cast as Katniss’ childhood sweetheart, Gale, not because he fits the role, but because he’s hot. Why wouldn’t a teenage girl buy a ticket to see him act all broody and attractive? I didn’t buy a ticket to see Liam Hemsworth (it was a bonus though!) I bought a ticket because I had the terrible craving to see how a director and actors would portray what had only ever been in my mind and on paper.

Am I glad I went? Yes. I like pop culture, and being a part of the fan craze. Do I want to see it again…ever? Nope. I have had my fill. I don’t really know if this review gives insight as to the movie content and its validity, but its definitely a few of my feelings regarding the film.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

