Favorites, Likes, Retweets, etc.

by Cait

Remember when we used to only really compare ourselves to others when we were with them and could hear them prattle on about how freaking awesome they were and how everything in their dang lives seemed to be going peachy keen? No? Me neither. I think this is because I’m a part of the social media generation. My parents didn’t have unlimited photos, statuses and tweets to look through in order to discover that they are in fact inferior to so and so.

I do.

For me, most social media is a train wreck. I am not happy with what I see, but I can’t help but rubberneck until my eyes are raw. I’ve found that our perspective these days is impossibly skewed.

Screen Shot 2014-01-04 at 10.44.31 PM

 

We all seem to have at least one (and usually multiple) form(s) of social media. I am all for utilizing these tools, and I believe I have most that are available. However, I think that instead of using Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. for connecting with friends and loved ones, we’re using it for comparison. We’ve become so wrapped up in our own “fascinating” lives and ensuring that everyone we know is aware of how “interesting” we are, that we’ve almost forgotten to just live. We don’t go to a new movie, watch it and then meet up with our friends to chat about it. Rather, we take a selfie on our way to the movie (probably while driving there), tweet about what films look appealing in the previews, text our friends what we got to eat from concessions, and then post a status about how we felt about it all. We can have a complete cinematic experience without interacting with another person, or actually forming an opinion about the movie because we’ve got a picture and several snippets of information regarding our trip to the theatre all organized to their appropriate media outlet. We don’t even need to have a point of view on the movie because all we care about is the number of likes on our status or photo, favorites and retweets our tweet received, and how many people viewed our Snapchat story. It’s ridiculous.

We know how self-absorbed we are and we even acknowledge it sometimes, but at the end of the day we rationalize it all by telling ourselves that everyone else does the exact same thing. Who even needs to have an actual conversation anymore? We can communicate with each other via 140 character messages over a 3G network (whatever that is.)

I didn’t write this post from my secluded ivory tower that protects me from the temptation of tweeting, but rather with my Chrome browser open, and 3 major social media outlets bookmarked and ready to be checked. I realize I am a part of this outrageous way of living, but rather than change it myself, I’m merely observing it form a suffocating grasp on society. Don’t mind me and my melodramatic perspective, I most likely picked it up from a Facebook post.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

