American Verses

by Cait

I never really considered myself a huge supporter of poetry. Most of the time I find it to be dull and confusing. Consider me reformed. We are studying the Modernist period in my American Literature class, and have been reading T.S. Eliot, William Carlos Williams, Lowell, and many others. I now have a firmer appreciation for the stuff. I think  this is due to having access to hearing the authors read their own works. That had never been the case before the Modernist period. You can actually listen to Eliot (or Cummings or Williams) read his poems. You can hear his emphasis on one thing and deemphasis on another. It’s simply wonderful. Basically what I’m saying: poetry is good.

Here are a few links to my favorites from this morning’s class.

T.S. Eliot – ” The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

William Carlos Williams – “This is Just to Say”

E. E. Cummings – “In Just–“

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

