Fairness.

by Cait

You know the expression, “no one said life is fair” ?

Well if you don’t, your parents did not have the cruel sense of humor that mine did when I was growing up. I hate the phrase, but I must admit it holds some truth.

As I’ve been applying for jobs in the past few months, I have come to realize something. It doesn’t matter what your GPA is, the extra-curriculars you were involved in, or even sometimes the job experiences you’ve had, a lot of times you will not get a job you’re applying for. It’s unfair and frustrating, but that’s how it goes. I’ve probably applied for a good 80 jobs since last October, and you know how many offers I’ve received? One.*

It’s so annoying and heartbreaking and it is seriously hurting my morale, but what can I do? I feel as though I’m interviewing well. I know that my resume isn’t completely terrible, but what’s the deal?

I don’t have a parent, aunt/uncle, cousin, or any other random family member who is giving me jobs within their company. I’m seriously qualified for most all of the jobs I’m applying for, but I guarantee you that most of them are either filled internally or with people that the company already knows. How frustrating is that? I mean, don’t they want new people to bring new ideas and ways of looking at things to their organization? I would. That’s something that our organizations on campus look for. We don’t want to be an incestuous group just feeding off of each person’s thoughts and regurgitating the same ideas. New blood is important!

So why don’t companies see that?

What I’ve learned in college, and through this job hunting process, is that who you know is very important. Your chances of getting a job with a company greatly increase with each connection you make at that organization. So basically, I know what I’m doing wrong, but unless I start phone stalking every major company in Kansas City, I’m stuck in my unemployed state.

Ah well, I suppose this is what being a new college grad is supposed to be like. It wouldn’t be normal (or eventually, eventually, satisfying) if it was easy.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

*(side note: I wasn’t aware of what the job would entail when I applied, but after interviewing and getting more information, I decided it was not for me.)

