Presence.

by Cait

As we get older we have choices to make. We see things happen and we have to respond to them. Whether it’s choosing to go to an event or ordering in some takeout, or really any combination of things, we have to make decisions. This weekend two of my friends, who I haven’t seen in years, invited me to two separate events. This entire week I was torn about what I should do. I’ve been so stressed out lately that I worried I wouldn’t be a good addition to either occasion. I feel like my nerves are shot and my patience is thin. So, in an effort to be a well-adjusted individual in tune with her feelings,  I chose to attend neither event. I miss both of these individuals dearly, but sometimes it’s necessary to say no to things. Sometimes you need a Saturday night at home with a beer, pizza, and hours of softball.

Well maybe you don’t, but I definitely did.

When we actively choose to give ourselves time to recharge it’s like an event in itself. Sometimes you need to know what your body/soul/spirit is asking you. After the past month of frenzied running around and accomplishing last minute details and planning parties and inviting people to everything under the sun, I needed a weekend that was about me. It’s involved sitting around my parent’s house and literally, lazing. So that’s what I did today. And you know what? I don’t feel bad. Give yourself a break every now and again. Don’t worry that you’re missing out on some grand adventure and your life is going to be worse off, instead, be completely present where you are and give your entire attention to that. If there is one thing I’ve learned from growing up it’s that your mental presence is the most valuable thing you can offer anyone. And that includes yourself. Give yourself a few minutes (at least) each day and simply breathe and be with yourself. Present.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

