The. Job.

by Cait

I got one. I got a job.

It is still pretty strange to be able to say that. I’ve been working in Goodland, Kansas for about 6 weeks now and it is still surreal at times. Don’t get me wrong, my job is not perfect, but it is perfect for me. I’m learning that even when when you get exactly what you need, it isn’t always what you wanted. I thought that getting a job in Marketing and Graphic Design (which I did!) would be an amazing experience that made work nothing less than a dream day in and day out. That just isn’t true. No matter how much I like my job, it’s still just that, a job. No matter how much I like it or learn from it, I’m not going to gain my life’s fulfillment from working. It’s about more than that. So if you’re wondering if I’m more adjusted than I was last time I wrote, the answer is, probably not. I still want the next step to come and surprise and excite me. The only thing is…that next step is possibly the scariest of all… because I have no idea what it is. Okay, I have some sort of clue, but I don’t really want to articulate it, and get all worked up about it…again.

So all you college grads out there, I’m not going to lie to you. Getting a job relieves a lot of tension you may feel about your future, but it isn’t the be all end all of your existence. Unless you’re sitting in a gutter somewhere, starving, (which I seriously doubt, considering the fact that you are currently reading a blog post) just do your best. Eventually good things will make their way to you. Believe me, I am the queen of worrying and wondering, but the thing about worrying is, (yes, I stole the quote I am about to give you) it sure takes up a lot of time, but it doesn’t get you anywhere. Channel that time into something a little bit more productive and I guarantee that job hunt won’t last as long.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

