Don’t create another problem

by Cait

All these people ranting about why they won’t change their profile pictures to the French Flag…you puzzle me.

Social media is not just an outlet for you to passive-aggressively vent about the people who do things you don’t really approve of, especially if they’re your “friends.” Social media is a way for people to document moments of their lives and share things that matter to them. Whether those moments are sad, happy, or questionable, it’s their page, and if you don’t like it, don’t follow them.

Whether or not someone is greatly invested in global events, it’s their right to care about what they choose to care about. Horribly terrible things and amazingly awesome things are happening every day, and it’s an inefficient use of a person’s time to stay current on absolutely everything unless your name is Barack. But when something, like the disaster in Paris, literally reaches out and grabs you, you can either choose to turn your head the other way, or you can actually give a shit. You can actually take initiative to do what you are able to do.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not as invested in world affairs as I “should” be. I try to stay abreast of current events, but honestly, it’s depressing for the most part. That’s lame and a shitty thing to say, but it’s true. So for me, when something occurs that makes me angry or want to take action, however small that action may be. I am a prime example of why social media is a great way for me to feel involved. I can join the united front against the assholes who call themselves ISIS and at least join in the fight against passivity. That’s not nothing.

Why begrudge someone the opportunity to create awareness about a horrible situation? Why take away their efforts to at least feel like they are helping in a world that time and again makes us all feel helpless, especially when it comes to forces such as ISIS? Of course you can do more, donate more, say more, but some people aren’t able to do everything you think they should. Whether it’s because they’re timid, struggling financially, whatever, don’t ever assume that someone is not doing their part.

I changed my profile picture, and I’d do it again. But I’m sorry I’m not choosing to show my concern the way you’d like me to. I am aware that other countries in this world need support. Who doesn’t? But I read somewhere that “you should do for one cause, what you want to do for every cause.” Channel all your energy into one thing instead of half-assing everything else. My friends put a rainbow flag over their picture when same-sex marriage was approved, and they put up a Royals baseball logo when the World Series was taking place, both happy events for some people. But the world isn’t always happy, and there isn’t always an easy solution. Changing your profile picture has proven to be a good way to get attention, so why would you not use it to create awareness for something else that truly matters?

Happy, sad, or questionable, social media is your outlet to do what you want, and if you choose to be an Internet troll, I guess that’s your business. But just so you know, it’s annoying and tiresome. Stop getting angry about someone’s profile picture, and maybe channel those emotions and that energy into something truly worth your time, like the crisis in Syria or the terror of ISIS. Don’t create another problem, we have enough of those, think of a solution.

Allow people to express themselves the way they choose. Just like you are choosing to do.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

