Life today.

by Cait

FullSizeRender.jpg

“To live will be an awfully big adventure.” – J.M. Barrie

I am on an adventure guys. A month ago (nearly), I packed up my house, pet (you know Mowgs by now), and belongings, and headed east.

Eastern Kansas to be more specific.

Lawrence to be exact

I went from nearly as far west you can go to nearly as far east as you can go and still be in Kansas, in both directions. What can I say? I love me a little I-70 road trip.

You may ask yourself (or myself…) why I did this. The answer? Ch-ch-changes.

I hate to admit it, but I am a creature of habit. I am most comfortable when things in my life are predictable. I like knowing where to get my favorite cup of coffee, how long it takes to get to the post office from my house, and whether or not my boss is a morning person. I like knowing the quickest route to work, whether my neighbors have loud parties, and where to get the best pizza in a 5 mile radius. These random bits of knowledge, are what make up our place. Our home. Our life. And by golly, I like being familiar with the random bits!

The problem with my living situation in Goodland was that I got to place of complacency. A place where there really wasn’t anything or anyone to…get to know or learn about. I lived nearly a year of my life being almost 100% familiar with each person and place I encountered every day. Sure, there were a few minor character recasts, but overall the original set & crew had been the same since day one.

I got a little freaked out when I was getting together with friends over New Year’s and we started discussing our different accomplishments from 2015. Other than a few work projects, my life had not changed an iota in a year. Now let me be clear, I’m talking about MY LIFE. While my brother became a father and was accepted into med school & one of my best friends graduated from college and moved across the country for seminary & another one of my best friends got married to the love of her life & and…well you get it. I had simply remained stagnant. Feet firmly stuck in the mud.

No professional advancements.
No relationships changes.
Fortunately, no health scares.

Just, nothing.

That in itself, terrified me. I didn’t want to recap another year on December 31st, 2016, and realize I hadn’t made any new decisions. So, I made a choice on December 31st, 2015 to do something about it.

Shortly after returning to Goodland post-Christmas break, I broke out the laptop and started applying for jobs. It was exhilarating. Exciting. I was finally going to do something new!

Except, it took longer than I expected.

Granted, in the scheme of things, it was a quick process, but when you’re ready for a change, you’re ready right THEN. We are creatures who want instant-gratification! And I am sorry to say, that while patience was (and still is!) one of my New Year’s resolutions, I wasn’t doing a great job of embracing that patience.

So what’s a girl to do when she’s feeling defeated and uninspired by everyday life?

to be continued…

FullSizeRender.jpg

