international mindset. 

by Cait

Note: Please forgive the tardiness of this post, as it was meant for August 2016.

Do music artists ever know the name of a song before it’s written?

I knew what I wanted the title of this blog post to be before I crafted the first sentence. My life has recently been immersed (much more than usual) in the awareness of different cultures, that I couldn’t possibly overlook the effects on my mindset.

The Olympics have clearly influenced me in this regard, but I’ve also been in Ohio at a conference for libraries all over the world, and because of that, have been interacting with individuals from various backgrounds and cultures. I love it. This has spurred me into thinking about my study abroad experiences and my friends who currently reside outside the U.S. It’s so easy to become wrapped up in our lives, our towns, and our people, but at the same time, it doesn’t take much to break from that mold.

I’ve written about my appreciation for the opinions of others on a couple occasions, but I sometimes forget about how much just being around different people can affect our choices and what we notice in ourselves.

I love that.

Being kept on my toes is my favorite way to live. Sure, knowing my comfort zone is wonderful when the world is going berserk around me, but I wouldn’t know what my comfort zone was for, or what it even extended to if it wasn’t for those who prod it.

What I’m inarticulately attempting to explain is, while the Olympics are a great time to be cognizant of the rest of the world, every four years (or two, if you think about the winter games!) is a paltry effort. We should be a little more ambitious in our tries to both accept others and be excited about their presence in our lives.

Until next time or not, I’m still Cait.

